bike

To travel…

To travel is to make a journey, an adventure, and experience.

Many times I have heard someone say, “I wish I could go travelling”, obviously I understand what they mean in literal terms of exploring for a long period of time. But travelling is exactly what is listed above, a journey, adventure and experience. This can simply be taking a train to the countryside, going for a trek and experiencing the open air and views that come from scaling that hill you avidly refer to as a mountain (well maybe thats what I do). Make like Samwise and take that farthest step from home he has ever taken it will see you on an adventure you would never expect, maybe not fighting orcs and saving the world but thats what we all hope for.

Many people don’t even know what is on their own doorstep. Your hometown will have many redeeming features that you probably aren’t even aware of. Thats not your fault, why should you visit the museum its been there all your life and will continue to be there? The simple answer is, when has it ever been easier for you to visit a place that you don’t know?

In my experience, I have still not seen a lot of what the UK has to offer, which is why whilst planning and saving for my world trip I am going to experience the good old british isles.

Just remember the notion of travelling is not getting on a flight for 9 hours and landing in a place where you cant speak to a single person and find your way (even though extremely cool), it can be as simple as going for a bike ride, or taking the dog for a walk 30 minutes ride out of the city to a place you’ve never been before.

A journey, an adventure and an experience.

29 thoughts on “To travel…”

  1. I completely agree with you. A lot of people think that to travel means to go to the other side of the world for some “exotic” experience. However, just visiting a place where you have never been to, even if it’s in your home town, is already traveling. You just wonder around and discover something new!

  2. I spent a long time telling myself to “wait a little longer” and “I’ll travel someday” until I finally up and did it – It was my most life-altering (terrifying, exhilarating) decision thus far. Every place has something beautiful to offer. ^^

    Happy travels!

  3. Haha! I’m just in the process of trying to live like a tourist in my home city of Bath, before attempting to travel like a local Sydney. I’d love to see more of the UK. There’s so many places on my list and I’m really looking forward to seeing where you go, getting some inspiration. Great idea – looking forward to the resulting posts.

    Thanks so much for the follow – I’m absolutely returning the favour!

  4. Hi Harrison
    Thanks for following. I’m a happy camper now you are joining me as I trip around by RV, plane, car and time machine to the past.
    Comments, compliments, critiques and wisecracks are most welcome.
    Good luck with your travel dreams. You have a great blog. “See” you again soon.
    Which Way Now 101 aka Carol

  5. I couldn’t agree more! I think we all have a little “grass is greener on the other side” syndrome especially when it comes to our hometowns. This summer I am planning to explore my town as if I were a tourist. I am sure it has plenty to offer that I haven’t discovered. Have fun exploring the UK! I’m sure that’ll be super fun!

  6. Agreed! Though I love a stamp on my passport, I’ve been embracing travel on a simpler level. Exploring my own backyard, which is now Portland and a very awesome place to be a “tourist”.

  7. As a traveler myself I can totally agree with you man :) I’m an alternative traveler and that being said; an adventure to me can even by walking down the sidewalk in front of my house :) from the time I wake up to the time I shut my eyes I am constantly figuring new ways and cheaper ways of traveling to amazing destinations with pocket money ;) i guess that’s one reason a lot of us love travel blogging. We can share with others little secrets like your posts! I love this post! Great share!

  8. I totally agree with your views, Harrison :)

    My approach towards travel is same.

    Any new street, temple, waterfall, hills…. interests me and I find great pleasure in introducing my findings to my friends and family or others through my photos.

  9. Harrison, love this! So true! It reminds me of a day that I discovered a beach, “in my own backyard” that my grandfather talked about, but the whereabouts of which I’d either never known or long since forgotten… (http://wp.me/p25g6K-77)… It’s an older post, from a blog that I don’t update as much as my main one, but it’s pretty much on-theme. Thanks for the great post!

  10. I am excited for you, Harrison! Enjoy what the new will bring you! Since you are in the UK, I hope you have a bicycle in good repair. The world can really open up on two wheels! I wish I had seen more when I lived there.

  11. I really like this post and I completely agree with you. I used to think that travelling means going someplace far away. I haven’t really explored Bangkok as much as I should.

  12. I look forward to reading your UK adventures. I have lived here for most of my life (travelling for pleasure and living overseas with work aside) and there is still so much to explore in our small country. I hope you love it!

  13. Very nice! I couldn’t agree more. In our first few years living here in the UK we visited a lot of doorstep gems… Over time, we settled in and only tour when we have foreign guests. You have set me to thinking on expanding my travel horizons again! 😀. Nice blog, BTW. And thanks for the follow.

Leave a Reply

